Videonale.scope #2 (2014)

19.-23. November 2014

Cinematic art as the observation of time: VIDEONALE.scope-Exhibition-of-Works by Chantal Akerman and Rainer Komers

 

Curated by Daniel Kothenschulte

VIDEONALE.scope is part of CineCologne

 

Opening Cine Cologne: Wednesday, 19th November 2014, 7pm at Filmforum NRW, Cologne

Further information: www.cinecologne.de

 

-- for VIDEONALE.scope programme please scroll down --

 

For the second time Videonale Bonn is organising the film series event VIDEONALE.scope which will present two pathbreaking film makers in the context of CineCologne. After inviting Birgit Hein and James Benning to Cologne and Bonn in 2013, in 2014 the focus will be on Rainer Komers and Chantal Akerman.

 

If it is true that all the great film makers have reinvented the cinema for themselves then Chantal Akerman is the best example. As a teenager she saw two films which changed her life: Jean-Luc-Godard’s “Pierrot le Fou” was an awakening for her. And after she had seen Michael Snow’s avant-garde film “Wavelength” in 1967, she knew she just had to become a director. She soon broke off her film studies: There they taught the very academicism which the flourishing avant-garde had left behind long ago. At the age of 18 she took charge of her career, earned her own money and used it to produce her first short film “Saute Ma Vie” which was premiered at Oberhausen. Since then, the Belgian’s work can be seen as a continuous explosion: Inspired in the early 70s by a stay in New York, where she came into contact with the flourishing structural cinema and the way in which Jonas Mekas and Andy Warhol captured time in their films, she gradually mastered all varieties of film: Avant-garde, documentaries, auteur film, melodrama, filmed literature and even the musical. She won international acclaim in 1975 with the epic-experimental drama “Jeanne Dielman – 32 Quai de Commerce” and is nowadays counted as one of the most influential directors of the last forty years.

 

As daughter of an Auschwitz survivor she regarded Trauma as an important theme. She rejected simple categorisation, just as she refused to be appropriated by feminism. It is not possible to experience her enormous body of work, whose scope she has widened in recent years with video installations in major art exhibitions such as Documenta and the Venice Biennale, in a mere five days. VIDEONALE.scope nevertheless dares to present an overview, beginning – using original copies of the films – with her early avant-garde film “Jeanne Dielmann”. For the first time her imposing filming of Joseph Conrad’s “La Folie Almayer” (Almayer’s Folly), which never reached Germany, can be seen. A special highlight is “One Day Pina Asked”, her portrait of Pina Bausch, which was recently revived in the USA with great success. And the moving journey through Eastern Europe, her film “De L’est” from 1993, demonstrates once again how the legacy of structural films, their silent, observant pictorial language, fertilised documentary film – qualities which also distinguish the work of her contemporary, Rainer Komers, who is the subject of the second exhibition of works.

 

With Rainer Komers one of the prophets of modern cinema is living in our land, in Mülheim an der Ruhr to be exact. Is it surprising that his films are better known all over the world than they are here? Like the works of James Benning, our guest at last year’s VIDEONALE.scope, they flourish on the boundary between documentary observation and the gentle artistic transformation which results from the deliberate way he handles the flow of time in his films: A result of the composition of the images and their editing. Komers himself is responsible for the camera.

 

Born in 1944, Komers first studied film at the Kunstakademie Düsseldorfer (Dusseldorf Art Academy) and later photography at the Folkwangschule in Essen. His artistic insight and a preference for an austere aesthetic, which manifests itself in his avoiding a wealth of detail, made him one of the most individual voices of the artistic documentary. His dialogue-free masterworks such as “Kobe” (2006), the portrait of a Japanese city, and its American counterpart “Milltown, Montana” (2009) are among the most sensitive works of this form and won awards all round the world. Equally the subject of attention was his trilogy “Erdbewegung” (Earth Movement), which, without any commentary, shows the life in landscapes intersected by major roads: the “B244” in the Ruhr industrial area, the highly branched “Nome Road System” of Alaska and the Indian highway “NH2”. His feature-length documentaries “Erinnerung an Rheinhausen” (Memories of Rheinhausen) and “Ofen aus” (Cold Furnace) became aesthetic documents of a structural change which transformed the life and landscape of North Rhine-Westphalia forever.

 

For his lyrical documentary „Lettischer Sommer“ (Latvian Summer) in 1993, he was drawn to Eastern Europe at the same time as Chantal Akerman was there making her film “De L’est” (From the East), which we will be showing on the same evening. In them, both filmmakers approach regions going through a radical political transformation with a cinematic torpor more appropriate to the dimensions of time than any news programme. For the first time, almost the entire work of Rainer Komers can be seen at one place.

 

All round the world, in Alaska, Montana, Ecuador, India, Japan and in Yemen, Komers finds places whose face is being altered by structural change and, even during their decay, finds an unshaped beauty.

 

It is Komers’ early political documentaries which are the special discovery of this exhibition of works, films such as “Wozu braucht man eine DKP-Fraktion im Rathaus“ (1975) (Who Needs a DKP Group in the Local Council), or “Zigeuner in Duisburg“ (Gipsies in Duisburg). Screened using original film copies, these unvarnished pictures of life provide a plenitude of photographic information which continues to nourish Rainer Komers’ documentary film art even today. Rainer Komers will be present at the screening of his films and will be available for discussion.

 

VIDEONALE.scope is supported by: 

 

     

 

CineCologne is supported by:

 

     

 

In cooperation with: 

 

              

 

 

PROGRAMME of VIDEONALE.scope

 


Rainer Komers:
2211 Büttel, 1975, 16mm, Farbe, 45 Min.
25572 Büttel, 2012, HD, 5 Min.
Kobe, 2006, Super 16mm, Farbe, 45 Min.

 

Thu 20.11., 6.30-8.15pm
Filmclub 813, Cologne

 

Videostill: Kobe @ Rainer Komers

 

Büttel, a village in Schleswig-Holstein, stands at the very beginning of Komers’ opus, and in this initial work his interest in the beauty of obscurity is already evident. In 2013 he returned to the scene of his first work and discovered a strange, broken idyll flanked by a nuclear power station. In addition “Kobe”, one of Komers’ masterpieces, a dialogue-free visual poem about the Japanese city “Kobe”.

 

Rainer Komers will be present for the talk.

 


Rainer Komers:
Milltown Montana, 2009, Super 16mm, 34 Min.
Werkstattgespräch (workshop discussion), Work in Progress, HD, 45 Min.

 

Thu 20.11., 8.30-10.10pm
Filmclub 813, Cologne

 

Empty mineworks filled with green water are all that remain of the flourishing mining area Milltown. In calm, observant images Komers leads the viewer through a post-civilisation desert, where the miners have nothing to do other than play billiards. Following this, it’s not very far from there to his latest confrontation with the Ruhr industrial area which he – before the world premiere – presents exclusively as a Work in Progress.

 

Rainer Komers will be present for the talk.

 

 


Rainer Komers:
Zigeuner in Duisburg, 1980, 16mm, s/w, 37 Min.
480 Tonnen bis Viertel vor Zehn, 1981, 16mm, s/w, 45 Min.
Die Sterne der Heimat, 1983, 16mm, 12 Min. 

 

Thu 20.11., 10.30pm-12.15am
Filmclub 813, Cologne
 

Videostill: Zigeuner in Duisburg @ Rainer Komers

 

Rainer Komers’ early films capture the everyday life of their time in the awareness that this will not remain unchanged. For the protagonists of “Zigeuner in Duisburg“ the inhospitable environment of the outskirts, which Kromers captures in austere landscapes, has already been lost. The working-class culture of Duisburg-Hochfeld must in the meantime make way for soulless redevelopment schemes. “Die Sterne der Heimat“, inspired by Ronald Reagan’s fatal visit to the military cemetery in Bitburg, won an award at the Krakau Film Festival.

 


Rainer Komers:
Trilogie Erdbewegung:
B 224, 1999, 35mm, 23 Min.
NH2, 2004, DV, 52 Min.
Nome Road System, 2005, Super 16mm, 26 Min.

 

Fri 21.11., 6.30-8.15pm
Filmclub 813, Cologne

 

Videostill: Nome Road System @ Rainer Komers

 

The trilogy “Erdbewegung”, is a modern masterwork of the artistic documentary. Without a commentary it follows life in landscapes intersected by major roads: the “B244” in the Ruhr industrial area, the highly branched “Nome Road System” of Alaska and the Indian highway “NH2”.

 


Rainer Komers:
Lettischer Sommer, 1993, Hi8, 87 Min.

 

Fri 21.11., 8.30-10.15pm
Filmclub 813, Cologne

 

Videostill: Lettischer Sommer @ Rainer Komers

 

In Komers’ work, this full-length documentary marks the boundary between classical documentary films and “free art”. A documentary politthriller about the fate of two Latvian journalists, one of whom died during a protest in Riga, contrasts with Kromers’ lyrical registration of the Latvian landscape and its inhabitants.

 


Chantal Akerman:
D`Est (Aus dem Osten), 1993, 16mm, 115 Min. OF (without Dialog)

 

Fri 10.30pm-12.30am
Filmclub 813, Cologne

 

Videostill: D´Est @ Arsenal, M. Stefanowski

 

A journey in pictures, from eastern Germany to Moscow, from summer to winter. “Everything, what touches her” is what Chantal Akerman wanted to film, and she abstained from any commentary. Static and tracking shots alternate and define a filmic music, backed by delicate sound editing.

 


Rainer Komers:
Erinnerung an Rheinhausen, 1990, 16mm, Farbe, 69 Min.
Ma’ Rib, 2009, Super 16mm, 30 Min.

 

Sat 4.30-6.45pm
Kölnischer Kunstverein, theater space

 

Videostill: Ma’Rib @ Rainer Komers

 

Komers’ documentaries hold time still, most intensively in places where the state of things and living conditions are being changed for ever. While the campaign to save the Krupp iron works in Rheinhausen was in full swing, with its accompanying publicity, he laid the focus on the consequences – and captured a whole working-class culture as it began to vanish. In Yemenite Ma’rib too, past and future lie next to one another, when in sight of the ruined city Sabas an oasis is being excavated out of the desert.

 

Rainer Komers will be present for the talk.

 

 


Chantal Akerman:
Saute ma Ville, 1968, 35mm, 13 Min. OF (without Dialog)
One Day Pina Asked, 1993, DVD, 57 Min. OmeU

 

Sat 7.00-20.15pm
Filmclub 813, Cologne
 

Videostill: Saute ma ville, @ Arsenal, M. Stefanowski

 

Skilfully composed and with anarchistic impact, “Saute ma Ville” is one of the debuts in the history of film: The young woman, who here throws the routine of her life overboard, is a precursor of Akerman’s “Jeanne Dielman”. “One Day Pina Asked” is moving film portrait of the great dancer Pina Bausch, and is currently being celebrated in the USA as a great discovery.

 


Chantal Akerman:
Jeanne Dielman, 23 Quai de Commerce, 1975, 35mm, 202 Min. OmU

 

Sat 8.30pm-midnight
Filmclub 813, Cologne

 

Videostill aus: Jeanne Dielman @ Paradise Films

 

In equal parts monumental and minimalistic, this chronicle of three days in the life of a housewife and mother, who prostitutes herself daily until she gradually breaks with her everyday routine, established itself as a classic of modern cinema. Akerman transferred the stylistic means of avant-garde film to the feature film and led both types of film to new heights.

 


Chantal Akerman:
La Chambre I, 1972, 11 Min. OF (without Dialog)
Hotel Monterey, 1972, 65 Min. OF (without Dialog)

 

Sun 4.30-6.00pm
Filmforum Museum Ludwig, Cologne

 

Videostill: La Chambre @ Chantal Akerman

 

Clearly under the impression of the American avant-garde film makers Andy Warhol and Michael Snow, Chantal Akerman’s early work stands out with its impressive feeling for the filmic relationship between space and time: Even more austere and consequent than Warhol’s “Chelsea Hotel”, “Hotel Monterey” is a fascinating portrait of a refuge for outsiders and lost souls.

 

In cooperation with Short Film Festival Cologne – Unlimited, Filmforum NRW

In cooperation with CINEMATEK - Koninklijk Filmarchief, Brussels

 


Chantal Akerman: La folie Almayer (Drama), 127 Min. OmeU

 

Sun 7.00-9.15pm
Filmclub 813, Cologne

 

Videostill: La folie Almayer @ Shellac

 

Chantal Akerman’s latest film, which never reached Germany, is an artistic invention. Based on Joseph Conrad’s first novel “Almayer’s Folly”, the director leads us, in a semi-documentary fashion, into the Malaysian jungle and transposes the tale of a Dutch businessman and his unhappy marriage into the late colonial era of the 50s. She named Murnau’s silent film “Tabu” (Taboo) as her model.

 

 


 

Rainer Komers:
Seseke Classic, 2010, HD, 5 Min.
Bottrop: Nützt dem Bürger eine DKP-Fraktion im Rathaus?, 1975, 16mm, s/w, 35 Min.
Ofen aus, 1995, 16mm, Farbe, 75 Min.

 

Sun 9.30-11.30pm
Filmclub 813, Cologne

 

Videostill: Ofen aus @ Rainer Komers

 

“We are now living in an era in which we must think affectionately about our refuse in order to save ourselves from destruction by abstraction”. This is written in the closing credits of “Seseke Classic”, a study of the construction of a canal as an artificial piece of nature. The communist party in the city council also looks – in Komer’s rare early work – like a foreign object. Or is democracy itself a foreign word? Finally: The farewell from the steel works in Rheinhausen.

Videonale.scope #2 (2014)

19.-23. November 2014

Filmkunst als Beobachtung der Zeit: VIDEONALE.scope-Werkschauen von Chantal Akerman und Rainer Komers

 

Kuratiert von Daniel Kothenschulte

Veranstaltet im Rahmen von CineCologne

 

Gemeinsame Eröffnung der CineCologne-Festivals:
Mittwoch, 19.11.2014, 19 Uhr im Filmforum NRW im Museum Ludwig, Köln
Weitere Informationen: www.cinecologne.de

 

-- zum VIDEONALE.scope-Programm bitte nach unten scrollen --

 

Wenn es wahr ist, dass alle großen Filmemacher das Kino neu erfunden haben, dann ist Chantal Akerman dafür das beste Beispiel. Als Teenager sah sie zwei Filme, die ihr Leben veränderten: Jean-Luc Godards „Pierrot le Fou“ erlebte sie wie eine Erweckung. Und nach Michael Snows Avantgardefilm „Wavelength“, den sie 1967 sah, wusste sie, dass sie Regisseurin werden musste. Das Filmstudium, das sie daraufhin begann, schmiss sie bald hin: Dort lehrte man genau den Akademismus, den die blühende Avantgarde längst hinter sich gelassen hatte. Mit 18 nahm Akerman ihre Karriere in die eigene Hand, produzierte mit selbstverdientem Geld den ersten Kurzfilm „Saute Ma Vie“, der in Oberhausen Premiere hatte. Seitdem lässt sich das Werk der Belgierin als beständige Explosion begreifen: Befruchtet in den frühen Siebziger Jahren von einem New-York-Aufenthalt und der Begegnung mit dem blühenden strukturellen Kino und der Art, wie Jonas Mekas und Andy Warhol in ihren Filmen die Zeit einfingen, eroberte sie sich nach und nach alle Spielarten des Films: Zwischen Avantgarde, Dokumentarismus, Autorenfilm, Melodram, Literaturverfilmung und sogar das Musical. Weltruhm errang sie 1975 mit dem episch-experimentellen Drama „Jeanne Dielman – 32 Quai de Commerce“ und zählt heute zu den einflussreichsten Regisseurinnen der letzten vierzig Jahre.

 

Als Tochter einer Auschwitz-Überlebenden machte sie das Trauma zu einem wichtigen Thema. Einfache Kategorisierungen lehnt sie dabei ebenso ab, wie eine Vereinnahmung etwa durch den Feminismus. Es ist unmöglich, ihr immenses Werk, das sie in den letzten Jahren durch Videoinstallationen in großen Kunstausstellungen wie der Documenta und der Biennale Venedig erweitert hat, in fünf Tagen zu erleben. VIDEONALE.scope wagt dennoch eine Übersicht, beginnend – in originalen Filmkopien – mit den frühen Avantgardefilmen und dem vierstündigen Meisterwerk „Jeanne Dielman“. Erstmals ist auch ihre an den deutschen Kinos vorbei gezogene, imposante Joseph-Conrad-Verfilmung „La Folie Almayer“ zu sehen. Ein besonderer Höhepunkt ist ihr jüngst in den USA erfolgreich wiederaufgeführtes Pina-Bausch-Porträt „One Day Pina Asked“. Und die berührende Osteuropa-Reise „De L’est“ von 1993 lässt noch einmal erleben, wie das Erbe des strukturellen Films, die stumme, beobachtende Bildsprache, den Dokumentarfilm befruchtete. Qualitäten, die auch das Werk ihres Zeitgenossen, Rainer Komers auszeichnen, dem die zweite Werkschau gilt.

 

Mit Rainer Komers lebt einer der Propheten des modernen Kinos in unserem eigenen Land, in Mülheim an der Ruhr um es genau zu sagen. Kein Wunder, dass seine Filme überall auf der Welt bekannter sind als hier. Wie das Werk von James Benning, dem letztjährigen VIDEONALE.scope -Gast, erblüht es an der Schnittstelle zwischen dokumentarischer Beobachtung und jener behutsamen künstlerischen Umformung, die aus der bedächtigen Organisation von filmischer Zeit entsteht: Durch Bildkomposition und Montage. Die Kamera macht Komers selbst.

 

1944 geboren, studierte Komers zunächst Film an der Düsseldorfer Kunstakademie, später Fotografie an der Essener Folkwangschule. Sein bildnerisches Verständnis, eine Vorliebe für eine asketische Ästhetik, die in der Zurückhaltung einen besonderen Detailreichtum entfaltet, machte ihn zu einer der eigenständigsten Stimmen im künstlerischen Dokumentarfilm. Seine wortlosen Meisterwerke wie das japanische Städteporträt „Kobe“ (2006) und dessen amerikanisches Pendent „Milltown, Montana“ (2009) gehören zu den empfindsamsten Werken ihrer Art und wurden weltweit mit Preisen ausgezeichnet. Ebenso viel Beachtung erfuhr seine Trilogie „Erdbewegung“, die unkommentiert das Leben entlang von mächtigen Straßen durchschnittener Landschaften zeigt: der „B 224“ im Ruhrgebiet, den verzweigten „Nome Road System“ in Alaska und dem indischen Highway „NH 2“. Seine abendfüllenden Dokumentarfilme „Erinnerungen an Rheinhausen“ und „Ofen aus“ wurden zu kunstvollen Dokumenten eines Strukturwandels, der Leben und Landschaften in Nordrhein-Westfalen für immer verändert hat.

 

Für seinen lyrischen Dokumentarfilm „Lettischer Sommer“ zog es ihn 1993 zur selben Zeit nach Osteuropa, als Chantal Akerman ihr Werk „De L’est“ drehte, den wir am selben Abend zeigen. Beide Filmemacher nähern sich darin Regionen, die radikale politische Umwälzungen erlebten, mit den Mitteln einer filmischen Langsamkeit, die den Proportionen der Zeit weit mehr entspricht als alle Nachrichtenformate. Zum ersten Mal ist nahezu das gesamte Werk von Rainer Komers an einem Ort zu sehen.

 

Überall auf der Welt, in Alaska, Montana, Ecuador, Indien, Japan oder im Jemen, findet Komers Orte, die ihr Gesicht durch strukturellen Wandel verändern und entdeckt in ihnen auch im Verfall eine ungeformte Schönheit.

 

Zu den besonderen Entdeckungen dieser Werkschau aber gehören Komers‘ frühe politische Dokumentarfilme wie „Wozu braucht man eine DKP-Fraktion im Rathaus“ (1975) oder „Zigeuner in Duisburg“. Projiziert von originalen Filmkopien, spricht auch aus diesen ungeschönten Lebensbildern ein Überschuss an fotografischer Information, aus dem sich Rainer Komers‘ dokumentarische Filmkunst bis heute speist. Rainer Komers wird bei den Filmprogrammen zum Gespräch anwesend sein.

 

VIDEONALE.scope wird gefördert von:

 

     

 

CineCologne wird gefördert von:

 

     

 

In Kooperation mit: 

 

              

 

 

PROGRAMM der VIDEONALE.scope

 


Rainer Komers:
2211 Büttel, 1975, 16mm, Farbe, 45 Min.
25572 Büttel, 2012, HD, 5 Min.
Kobe, 2006, Super 16mm, Farbe, 45 Min.

 

Do 20.11., 18.30-20.15h
Filmclub 813, Köln

 

Videostill aus: Kobe @ Rainer Komers

 

Büttel, ein Dorf in Schleswig-Holstein, definierte schon Komers Interesse für die Schönheit im Obskuren. 2013 kehrte er an den Spielort seines Erstlings zurück und findet eine merkwürdige, von einem Kernkraftwerk flankierte, gebrochene Idylle. Dazu eines von Komers Meisterwerken, das wortlose japanische Städtegedicht „Kobe“.

 

Rainer Komers ist zum Gespräch anwesend.

 


Rainer Komers:
Milltown Montana, 2009, Super 16mm, 34 Min.
Werkstattgespräch, Work in Progress, HD, 45 Min.

 

Do 20.11., 20.30-22.10h
Filmclub 813, Köln

 

Leere Stollen mit giftgrünem Wasser sind alles, was vom blühenden Bergbaugebiet Milltown geblieben ist. In ruhigen, beobachtenden Einstellungen führt Komers in eine postzivilisatorische Wüste, in der die Bergleute nur noch Billard spielen. Der Weg ist nicht weit zu seiner neuesten Auseinandersetzung mit dem Ruhrgebiet, die er – noch vor der Weltpremiere – im Anschluss exklusiv als Work in Progress präsentiert.

 

Rainer Komers ist zum Gespräch anwesend.

 


Rainer Komers:
Zigeuner in Duisburg, 1980, 16mm, s/w, 37 Min.
480 Tonnen bis Viertel vor Zehn, 1981, 16mm, s/w, 45 Min.
Die Sterne der Heimat, 1983, 16mm, 12 Min. 

 

Do 20.11., 22.30-0.15h
Filmclub 813, Köln
 

Videostill aus: Zigeuner in Duisburg @ Rainer Komers

 

Rainer Komers’ frühe Dokumentarfilme erfassen den Alltag ihrer Zeit im Bewusstsein, dass er nicht alle Tage bleiben wird. Für die Protagonisten von „Zigeuner in Duisburg“ ist der unwirtliche Lebensraum am Stadtrand, von Komers in strenge Landschaftsbilder gefasst, bereits verloren. Die Arbeiterkultur von Duisburg-Hochfeld sollte in der Zwischenzeit unseligen Sanierungsmaßnahmen weichen. „Die Sterne der Heimat“, inspiriert von Ronald Reagans fatalem Besuch des Soldatenfriedhofs Bitburg, wurde beim Filmfestival Krakau ausgezeichnet.

 


Rainer Komers:
Trilogie Erdbewegung:
B 224, 1999, 35mm, 23 Min.
NH2, 2004, DV, 52 Min.
Nome Road System, 2005, Super 16mm, 26 Min.

 

Fr 21.11., 18.30-20.15h
Filmclub 813, Köln

 

Videostill aus: Nome Road System @ Rainer Komers

 

Die Trilogie „Erdbewegung“, eines der modernen Meisterwerke des künstlerischen Dokumentarfilms, verfolgt unkommentiert das Leben in Landschaften, die von Verkehrswegen durchschnitten sind: der „B 224“ im Ruhrgebiet, den verzweigten „Nome Road System“ in Alaska und dem indischen Highway „NH 2“.

 


Rainer Komers:
Lettischer Sommer, 1993, Hi8, 87 Min.

 

Fr 21.11., 20.30-22.15h
Filmclub 813, Köln

 

Videostill aus: Lettischer Sommer @ Rainer Komers

 

Der abendfüllende Dokumentarfilm markiert eine Schnittstelle in Komers’ Werk zwischen klassischem Dokumentarfilm und der „freien Kunst“: Der dokumentarische Politkrimi über das Schicksal zweier lettischer Journalisten, von denen einer bei den Protesten in Riga starb, kontrastiert mit Komers’ lyrischer Erfassung der lettischen Landschaft und ihren Bewohnern.

 


Chantal Akerman:
D`Est (Aus dem Osten), 1993, 16mm, 115 Min. OF (ohne Dialog)

 

Fr 22.30-0.30h
Filmclub 813, Köln

 

Videostill aus: D´Est @ Arsenal, M. Stefanowski

 

Eine Reise in Bildern, von Ostdeutschland nach Moskau, vom Sommer in den Winter. „Alles, was sie berührt“ wollte Chantal Akerman filmen und verzichtet auf Kommentierung. Statische Einstellungen wechseln mit Kamerafahrten und definieren eine filmische Musik, unterstützt von einer feinfühligen Geräuschmontage.

 


Rainer Komers:
Erinnerung an Rheinhausen, 1990, 16mm, Farbe, 69 Min.
Ma’ Rib, 2009, Super 16mm, 30 Min.

 

Sa 16.30-18.45h
Theatersaal Kölnischer Kunstverein

 

Videostill aus: Ma’Rib @ Rainer Komers

 

Komers’ Dokumentarfilme halten die Zeit fest, am intensivsten an Orten wo sich Zustände und Lebensumstände für immer verändern. Als medienwirksam um den Erhalt der Krupp-Hütte in Rheinhausen gekämpft wurde, fasste er den Focus weiter – und fing eine ganze Arbeiterkultur im Verschwinden ein. Auch im jemenitischen Ma’rib liegen Vergangenheit und Zukunft nebeneinander, wenn mit Blick auf die Ruinen der Stadt Sabas eine Oase aus der Wüste gestemmt werden soll.

 

Rainer Komers ist zum Gespräch anwesend.

 


Chantal Akerman:
Saute ma Ville, 1968, 35mm, 13 Min. OF (ohne Dialog)
One Day Pina Asked, 1993, DVD, 57 Min. OmeU

 

Sa 19.00-20.15h
Filmclub 813, Köln
 

Videostill aus: Saute ma ville, @ Arsenal, M. Stefanowski

 

Kunstvoll komponiert und anarchisch in seiner Wucht, ist „Saute ma Ville“ einer der großen Debütfilme der Filmgeschichte: Die junge Frau, die hier mit den routinierten Handlungen ihres Lebens bricht, ist eine Vorbotin von Akermans „Jeanne Dielman“. „One Day Pina Asked“ ist ein bewegendes Filmporträt der großen Tanzkünstlerin Pina Bausch, das in amerikanischen Kinos derzeit als große Entdeckung gefeiert wird.

 


Chantal Akerman:
Jeanne Dielman, 23 Quai de Commerce, 1975, 35mm, 202 Min. OF

 

Sa 20.30-24.00h
Filmclub 813, Köln

 

Videostill aus: Jeanne Dielman @ Paradise Films

 

Ebenso monumental wie minimalistisch wurde diese Chronik dreier Tage im Leben einer Hausfrau und Mutter, die sich täglich prosituiert, bis sie schleichend mit der Routine ihres Alltags bricht, zu einem Klassiker des modernen Films. Akerman übertrug damit die Stilmittel des Avantgardefilms in den Spielfilm und führte beide Filmarten zu neuen Höhen.

 


Chantal Akerman:
La Chambre I, 1972, 11 Min. OF (ohne Dialog)
Hotel Monterey, 1972, 65 Min. OF (ohne Dialog)

 

So 16.30-18.00h
Filmforum Museum Ludwig, Köln

 

Videostill aus: La Chambre @ Chantal Akerman

 

Deutlich beeinflusst von den amerikanischen Avantgarde-Filmemachern Andy Warhol und Michael Snow, zeichnet sich Chantal Akermans konzeptuelles Frühwerk durch ein beeindruckendes Gefühl für das filmische Verhältnis zwischen Raum und Zeit aus: Strenger und konsequenter noch als Warhols „Chelsea Hotel“ ist „Hotel Monterey“ ein faszinierendes Porträt einer Heimstätte für Außenseiter und Gestrandete.

 

In Kooperation mit Kurzfilmfestival Köln – Unlimited, Filmforum NRW

In Kooperation mit CINEMATEK - Koninklijk Filmarchief, Brüssel

 


Chantal Akerman: La folie Almayer (Drama), 127 Min. OmeU

 

S0 19.00-21.15h
Filmclub 813, Köln

 

Videostill aus: La folie Almayer @ Shellac

 

Auch Chantal Akermans jüngster Film, der nie nach Deutschland kam, ist eine künstlerische Neuerfindung. Nach der Vorlage von Joseph Conrads Romanerstling „Almayers Wahn“ führt die Regisseurin in den Dschungel von Malaysia und verlegt die Geschichte um einen niederländischen Unternehmer und seine glücklose Ehe in den Spätkolonialismus der 50er Jahre. Als Vorbild nannte sie Murnaus Stummfilm „Tabu“.

 

 


 

Rainer Komers:
Seseke Classic, 2010, HD, 5 Min.
Bottrop: Nützt dem Bürger eine DKP-Fraktion im Rathaus?, 1975, 16mm, s/w, 35 Min.
Ofen aus, 1995, 16mm, Farbe, 75 Min.

 

So 21.30-23.30h
Filmclub 813, Köln

 

Videostill aus: Ofen aus @ Rainer Komers

 

„Wir leben jetzt in einer Zeit, in der wir unseren Abfall liebevoll bedenken müssen, um uns selbst vor der Vernichtung durch Abstraktion zu bewahren“, heißt es im Abspann zu „Seseke Classic“ einer Studie um den Bau eines Kanals als künstliches Stücks Natur. Auch die kommunistische Partei im Rathaus erscheint – in Komers seltenen Frühwerk – manchen als Fremdkörper. Oder ist doch nur die Demokratie ein Fremdwort? Zum Schluss: Der Abschied vom Stahlwerk in Rheinhausen.

 

Rainer Komers ist zum Gespräch anwesend.