Videonale in Lagos

Changing City – Shifting Spaces

31 January – 28 February 2016

Centre for Contemporary Art (CCA), Lagos / Kongi Gallery, Freedom Park, Lagos

 

Opening: 30 January, 5pm, Kongi Gallery, Freedom Park

 

Videonale Bonn, and Video Art Network (VAN), Lagos, join forces to present the project ‘Videonale in Lagos: Changing City – Shifting Spaces’. The project is an initiative of KfW Stiftung which wishes to contribute to the ongoing development of new media artistic practice in Nigeria by supporting local up-and-coming talents in establishing international contacts. It is realised in cooperation with the Goethe-Institut Nigeria and the Centre for Contemporary Art (CCA), Lagos.

 

When looking at today’s globalised, digital realities the language of the moving image has become a universal tool to comment and reflect on the ever-shifting spaces of everyday life. With the topic ‘Changing City – Shifting Spaces’ Videonale in Lagos explores the dynamics of urban space in a video art workshop for artists based in Nigeria, led by the internationally acclaimed Anglo-Ethiopian video artist Theo Eshetu in collaboration with the Nigerian artist/curator Jude Anogwih (VAN Lagos), as well as an exhibition featuring Nigerian and international artists curated by Jude Anogwih (VAN Lagos) and Tasja Langenbach & Jennifer Gassmann (Videonale Bonn).

 

With works by Ima-Abasi Okon, Aderemi Adegbite, Jude Anogwih, Victor Ehikhamenor, Theo Eshetu, Christoph Faulhaber, Heidrun Holzfeind, Uche-Okpa Iroha, Zhenchen Liu, Melanie Manchot, Emeka Ogboh, Wura-Natasha Ogunji, Otolith Group, Nicolas Provost, Adejoke Tugbiyele, Emeka Udemba, Zsolt Vasarhelyi, Jan Verbeek, Tobias Yves Zintel.

 

Exhibition places

Centre for Contemporary Art (CCA), Lagos
9 McEwen Street
Sabo, Yaba, Lagos
Nigeria

 

Hours:
Monday-Friday 10am-6pm
Saturday/Sunday by appointment only

 

Kongi Gallery, Freedom Park

Old Prison Ground Broad Street
Lagos Island, Lagos
Nigeria

 

Hours:
Monday- Saturday 10am-5pm

Program

 

Opening:  

January 30, 5 pm, Kongi Gallery, Freedom Park
8 pm, Public Screening, Amphitheater, Freedom Park

 

Exhibition:  

January 31 – February 1,  Kongi Gallery, Freedom Park

January 31 – February 28, CCA

 

Artist’s Talk:  

January 23, 2016, 5pm

Theo Eshetu, artist (Berlin/Rome)
Department of Creative Arts, Faculty of Arts, University of Lagos

 

Closing Event: 

February 28, 2016, 2-6pm: CCA

Presentation and screening of the video art workshop at Biennale Jogja XIII ‘Hacking Conflict: Indonesia meets Nigeria’, Yogyakarta, Indonesia, October 2015

 

For further information:
http://www.ccalagos.org/
http://www.goethe.de/ins/ng/en/lag.html
http://www.kfw-stiftung.de/content/en/arts/videonale/lagos/

Videonale in Lagos

Changing City – Shifting Spaces

Videonale Bonn und Video Art Network (VAN) Lagos schließen sich zusammen, um gemeinsam das Projekt „VIDEONALE IN LAGOS: Changing City – Shifting Spaces“ zu präsentieren. Das Projekt ist eine Initiative der KfW Stiftung zur Stärkung von Videokunst in Nigeria durch Nachwuchsförderung und internationale Vernetzung und wird in Kooperation mit dem Goethe-Institut Nigeria und dem Centre for Contemporary Art (CCA), Lagos, realisiert.

 

31. Januar – 28. Februar 2016
Centre for Contemporary Art (CCA), Lagos / Kongi Gallery, Freedom Park, Lagos

Eröffnung: 30. Januar 2016, 17 Uhr, Kongi Gallery, Freedom Park

 

VIDEONALE IN LAGOS besteht aus einem Videokunst-Workshop für junge Künstler aus Nigeria unter der Leitung des renommierten britisch-äthiopischen Künstler Theo Eshetu und des Künstlers/Kurators Jude Anogwih (VAN Lagos) im Goethe-Institut, Lagos, sowie einer Ausstellung im CCA und der Kongi Gallery, Freedom Park, Lagos, kuratiert von Jude Anogwih und Tasja Langenbach & Jennifer Gassmann (Videonale). Ergänzend findet ein Begleitprogramm statt.

 

In der globalen, digitalen Gegenwart wurde die Sprache des bewegten Bildes zu einem universellen Medium, das die sich ständig verändernden Räume des täglichen Lebens kommentiert und reflektiert. Mit dem Thema „Changing City – Shifting Spaces” erforscht VIDEONALE IN LAGOS die Dynamiken des urbanen Raums, wie sie insbesondere in Lagos zu beobachten sind – zuerst in dem praxisorientierten, explorativen Workshop, im Anschluss in der Ausstellung, die Arbeiten internationaler Künstler vergangener Videonale-Festivals zusammen mit Videoarbeiten nigerianischer Künstler sowie während des Workshops entstandene Arbeiten zeigt.

 

KünstlerInnen: Ima-Abasi Okon, Aderemi Adegbite, Jude Anogwih, Victor Ehikhamenor, Theo Eshetu, Christoph Faulhaber, Heidrun Holzfeind, Uche-Okpa Iroha, Zhenchen Liu, Melanie Manchot, Emeka Ogboh, Wura-Natasha Ogunji, Otolith Group, Nicolas Provost, Adejoke Tugbiyele, Emeka Udemba, Zsolt Vasarhelyi, Jan Verbeek, Tobias Yves Zintel.

Mit diesem Projekt ist die Videonale erstmals auf dem afrikanischen Kontinent präsent – mit Video Art Network (VAN) Lagos als einem Partner, der national und international eine Plattform für einen kritischen Diskurs des bewegten Bildes bietet und diese künstlerische Ausdrucksform in Nigeria fördert.

 

Orte der Ausstellung:

Centre for Contemporary Art (CCA), Lagos
9 McEwen Street
Sabo, Yaba, Lagos
Nigeria

 

Montag-Freitag 10-18 Uhr

Samstag/Sonntag nur mit Termin

 

Kongi Gallery, Freedom Park

Old Prison Ground Broad Street
Lagos Island, Lagos
Nigeria

 

Montag-Freitag 10-17 Uhr

 

Programm:

Eröffnung: 

30.01.16, 17 Uhr, Kongi Gallery, Freedom Park
20 Uhr, Öffentliches Screening, Amphitheater, Freedom Park

 

Ausstellung:  

31.01. – 14.02.16, Kongi Gallery, Freedom Park
31.01.-28.02.16, CCA

 

Vortrag:

23.01.16, 17 Uhr: Theo Eshetu, Künstler (Berlin/Rom)

Department of Creative Arts, Faculty of Arts, University of Lagos

 

Abschlussevent:

28.02.16, 14-18 Uhr, CCA: Jogja - Lagos

Präsentation und Screening des Videokunst-Workshops im Rahmen der Biennale Jogja, Indonesien, Oktober 2015 (Thema „Hacking Conflict: Indonesia meets Nigeria“)

 

Weitere Informationen:
http://www.ccalagos.org/
http://www.goethe.de/ins/ng/en/lag.html
http://www.kfw-stiftung.de/content/en/arts/videonale/lagos/